A smile will gain you ten more years of life.

This is excellent news. Immortality is within reach! But if I smile too much, this think could soon get out of hand.There must be a control mechanism to this facial expression life extension.

So a smile will award me ten more years life. I take it that a frown will cost me ten years and a blank face will give me nothing. I might have to keep a log of remarkable interactions throughout each day so that of an evening I can do the maths.

Smiled three times, frowned once, spent the rest of the day in blank stare out window. 30 – 10 = 20 years gained.

There’s the very basic demonstration of what I might have to track, what a depressing day if I only smiled three times. And how unrealistic to only frown once.

But what kind of smile really gains ten years? It is the genuine smiles? Is it a polite, neighbourly type smile which means nothing more than I’m not a threat. And what of laughter? I must also consider that I’m a frowny thinker, I could actually cease to exist on a particularly thoughtful day.

Good grief, is this cookie fortune, this gift of potential everlasting life really a curse?

On the positive side, it affords me many many years to figure out what it is I’d actually like to do. Given my chronic procrastination and fear of commitment I’ll either never decide and the gift of time will be wasted on me, or I’ll try doing anything that spends five minutes in my head as a great idea with a reduced fear of confinement.

Immortality, gift or curse? Both options allow for compelling arguments. Ultimately, I don’t have to live forever, I could chose the life of the curmudgeon once I’d had enough, withdraw all those deposited smiles. But damn it’s nice know I have the entry ticket to a life everlasting!

Lucky (equation) Numbers: 32(s), 25(f), 11(b), 9(s), 6(f), 26(b)

(32 + 9) – (25 + 6) = 10 years gained

Leave a comment